Deception on Cable, Calling Itself “The Bible”

I have to start this post with an admission – I have not seen any of the History Channel mini-series entitled, “The Bible”.  We don’t have cable or satellite television in our house and it hasn’t been made available on the streaming providers we do subscribe to.

Many might be thinking – “This guy hasn’t watched any of this,  what right does he have to criticize ” I guess that would be a valid criticism, but with theological advisers like Joel Osteen (a flat-out heretic), TD Jakes (a modalist who denies the doctrine of the trinity), and Rick Warren (another heretic who’s invented his own “purpose-driven” religion he cloaks in language that sounds like christianity) I can hardly imagine how they could produce a biblically sound dramatization of the scriptures.

In lieu of my own review- which I am obviously unqualified to give, I highly recommend you read the review below which appears to be very thorough and entirely biblical in its approach.

SOMETHING HUGE IS MISSING FROM THE LAST SUPPER!

I think I might have messed up this link. The above article is mostly a repost of this article here:

History Channel’s ‘The Bible’ exalts man over God

 

21 thoughts on “Deception on Cable, Calling Itself “The Bible”

  1. Mr Sheep your post made me burst out laughing. In a good way. You see I too have a confession. I don’t own a television, it’ s a personal conviction and one that has gotten me into some pretty serious debates and false accusations 😉

    I wanted to reassure you , your’e not alone in your concern as the Holy Spirit is sending all sorts of red flags my way . I refuse to just wave these away as me being overly sensitive again but I do heed them . These are placed there by the Lord as a caution for our spiritual protection in these very diabolical and deceptive days.The week the Purpose Driven Life came out the Lord showed me the danger we would be facing. Searching high and low for someone else to see the danger was not only frustrating but it was a very lonely path. Praise God the Lord raised up godly men to expose the agenda.

    It’s like de-ja-vu all over again.It sure is far easier to go with the flow than to stand against it.

    Keep contending for the faith.

    Like

  2. Good grief, does it matter? This series does not place man above God, it does however reacquaint this secular society with the fact there is God and Jesus is His Son. I’ve heard these same critiques about the Crucifixion film, which brought many to the home of our Holy Father. I have watched this series, I do not rely on someone else to decide my opinions for me. Why discourage people from the opportunity to see? Someday God’s children, the believers, are going to realize this infighting is not born of God. Satan surely seizes every opportunity to cause dissension. God bless.

    Like

  3. I do have a television but I don’t have cable so I haven’t watched it. I had a non-Christian religions professor ask me if I had seen it and when I told him no he told me to not waste my time as he felt if it was supposed tom Biblically based they did a bad job if it and he felt it was confusing to the average viewer. I had no clue that Osteen and Warren were involved but that’s enough right there to make sure I won’t watch it.

    Like

  4. To Angela:

    Yes, it absolutely does matter. The Lord himself has told us we are sheep among wolves – and commended us to be as wise as serpents and innocent at doves (Matthew 10:16).

    The admonition to not contend for the Gospel is unbiblical.

    Jude 1:3 – Beloved, although I was very eager to write to you about our common salvation, I found it necessary to write appealing to you to contend for the faith that was once for all delivered to the saints.

    We are not contending about some trivial issue – the color of the pews, the meter of the hymns we sing – we are contending for the Gospel and warning our brothers and sisters to be mindful of what they put before their eyes, or what they recommend or praise as coming from the Lord. Upon the thoughtful criticism I have read, and the professed beliefs of the creators and advisors I can do nothing but warn those that know or those that wish to know my Lord that this adaptation will not represent Him and his good news truthfully.

    Some may say that 1 Corinthians 11:9 warns me not be contentious – but I would encourage the reader to look back at that passage again. It is arguing that the Corinthians should not be contentious with the authority of what is written to them by an Apostle chosen by Christ himself, about head coverings in the church. I hope you don’t take my words as an attack, but I must disagree with you and would pray that if I am wrong that the holy spirit will convict me of my error through the scriptures.

    So do I discourage people in secular society from watching this show? Yes, I do, I cannot recommend that they be lied to and presented a twisted man-centered gospel.

    Like

  5. I humbly disagree. As a child of my Holy Father, i have no interest in telling others what they should or should not watch as Christians. That is not my right nor my position. This series in no way deterred a belief in Jesus, it in fact encouraged it along with educating the viewer on the tone of the people when Jesus arrived. Much like we have today. If those of us on the same side would just stop wasting energy on instructing others, we might all have a chance to unite against the common cause..evil. Additionally you never even watched the series sir, why is that, and why would you then take such a lofty approach to something you yourself has not even viewed?? Why after asserting that fact, would you think anyone would revere your opinion? I want no argument, so I’ll not respond again but I hope you will at least think about this..

    Like

  6. I don’t think it is a lack of humility to warn my brothers and sisters of false teachers and of the works of false teachers. It is a duty of every Christian to sound the alarm when one who professes to a follower of the way is preaching something other than the Gospel. We are not speaking ourselves but letting the scripture, which teaches plainly speak for itself.

    For there are many who are insubordinate, empty talkers and deceivers, especially those of the circumcision party. They must be silenced, since they are upsetting whole families by teaching for shameful gain what they ought not to teach. One of the Cretans, a prophet of their own, said, “Cretans are always liars, evil beasts, lazy gluttons.” This testimony is true. Therefore rebuke them sharply, that they may be sound in the faith, not devoting themselves to Jewish myths and the commands of people who turn away from the truth. To the pure, all things are pure, but to the defiled and unbelieving, nothing is pure; but both their minds and their consciences are defiled. They profess to know God, but they deny him by their works. They are detestable, disobedient, unfit for any good work. (Titus 1:10-16, ESV)

    If I truly love my brother or sister – would I not rebuke them soundly when they are found in sin? Also when a brother or sister is calling something which is detestable (a false presentation of the gospel) good how can I speak the truth to them in love but to disagree and to warn even if it is from 1) what I know about the teachings of those involved 2) based up on the words of brothers or sisters who on many other occasions have been found to be speaking the truth and been shown to be trustworthy.

    You are right – don’t take my word for it. I have done my best to be honest and disclosed that I didn’t get to watch. Don’t take the truth of scripture and hide it under a bushel basket or take the discernment that has been granted by the Holy Spirit and is found to be in agreement with the scriptures and silence it.

    Like

  7. I have watched much of this series. And I, for one, am disturbed by some of the very most important parts they left out. Parts that mattered a lot to the true gospel of the true Jesus Christ of Nazareth and his teachings. I would not recommend this to anyone although at first I had truly hoped it would be accurate. But when I heard Rick Warren and Joel Osteen were consulted I was pretty sure it would be very watered down. As well much of the old testament was not shown in the way I read it, nothing about who Sampson was and his mother’s prayers for him, as well nothing about the childhood of Samuel the prophet? Why? The miracle conception and birth of John the Baptist was not even shown or talked about. What? the one who came ahead of Jesus proclaiming baptism unto repentance.

    This new God that most proclaim today who is only love, love, love is not the God of our Jesus Christ of Nazareth. We are saved from the wrath of God to come on this world filled with disobedience, and now most won’t even mention that repentance is the first part of salvation. Man always wants to make his own way and in this age the so called Christians are following right along. The falling away is evident.

    Anyway I would not recommend most of anything the television shows about the bible including this latest one. But from what I can tell most churches today are leaving out most of the important parts of what repentance means, oh Jesus came so that you could be your best self. Yeah right, Joel Osteen and Rich Warren, false teachers for sure. Along with many others.

    Like

  8. Point taken, I do not nor ever have prescribed to the likes of Osteen or Warren. My eyes are on Jesus, He will steer me where I need to go. If one watches anything on TV, this is probably one of the better ones to watch. At least its focus is not on the secular.

    Like

  9. totally agree justasheep, roma and Hisown. (derl made a good point too). revelation 22:18-21–the adding to and taking away from the Word of God continues–adding a man-centered “gospel” therefore taking away the Glory and Power of His Very Word–the Power of God unto Salvation—repentance toward God and faith toward His Son. acts 20:21—heaping curses upon themselves. yes the falling away is very evident–very very far advanced……..so is the Return of Christ Who Promised-surely I come quickly.

    Like

  10. Thank you Angela – I’m glad we agree about who some of the wolves are that are working to deceive the flock. I don’t claim to have all of the answers, I am no prophet or apostle or even pastor or elder. I look to the Lord and his word before I think too much or speak on anything. We’ll end up agreeing to disagree about that particular history channel show – but I guess when asked we can continue to be honest with those we talk to – for me I’ll tell them that I know solid bible-believing folks that think there may be some good in it, and I’m sure that while you see it as good you’d probably mention that you know good bible-believing folks that have there reservations about how the Bible is being presented there.

    Like

  11. I see there’s another Angela here… And we don’t seem to represent each other’s opinions…

    Well, this is the Swedish one. And she agrees whith all the warning signals that ‘the Bible’ have given raise to.

    And, like Hisown, I’ve already discovered it can be a lonely path.
    Some people say ‘focus on the good bits’.
    Alas, it’s hard for me. ‘The unbiblical bits’ spoil it for me.

    Just so you all know – I’ll be using my Swedish name from now on (to avoid confusion).

    Like

  12. Tony,
    in short, I have seen how the series belittles God’s holiness, makes light of sin, and makes much of man’s achievements.
    It starts whith Moses not taking off his shoes at the burning bush…

    They have just not been true to the text, and thus they have undermined the basic foundations in the gospel – and added some ‘easy forgiveness’.
    Here I’m thinking of how David is portrayed, as hardly grieving or repenting, and the prophet saying someting like ‘don’t worry – God still loves you – because you are building God’s kingdom on earth’!? (Cheap grace, no repentance, and dominionism…?)

    At the last supper ‘for the forgiveness of sin’ is left out.
    An imprtant ‘detail’.

    Like

  13. It figures and i agree with you so much about how serious all this is. We need powerful sermons to bring us all back to the actual reality and depth of Truth. Society is sooo far adrift. i cry out to the Father through His son, our savior Jesus Christ our Lord. There is power in His name and in His precious blood. God help us. Thanks Ingela, for your attention to details and awakening comment. He wants us hot or even cold?, but NOT lukewarm,…my God. Not to be a casual christian,…thats a trap and a deception and i see thats what is being pointed out so much around here, thank God. Let us go by way of the narrow gate with an upright walk, cleansed and ever gracious, moving forward sincerely and care-fully, amen.

    Like

  14. could not agree more ingela. the Holiness of God & the Blood of Jesus Christ made a light cheap thing is abominable in my book too and this is the portrayal that i see in their (hollywood) version of the Bible. God open their eyes……….

    Like

  15. We’ll it’s encouraging to know there are brothers and sisters who see the same things.

    When I wrote of this in a Swedish forum, it caused quite a stir…

    Now I’ve actually finished watching all of the episodes. And i wish I could say my concerns are gone… Alas, where to start?

    To be fair, it is a well made production, whith quite good acting throughout.
    Some things they have managed to get right – you’d expect that, it’s a great story to begin whith, and even when messed whith, the original shines through.

    However… however… I’ve got a number of problems whith the series.
    With room for artistic expression, there are still both disturbing omittances, and things added.

    Added is for example (catholic) Mary, mother of Jesus, ever present throughout the passover drama (perfectly coiffed and made up), similar to how se was depicted in ‘the Passion of the Christ’. She is depicted in both productions as the one present parent – comforting her son. And, of course, there’s a long shot of the classic ‘passion scene’ whith the dead Jesus on Mary’s lap, and John standing by. (Reminds me of other classic stained-glass-window scenes… ‘Holy grails’ and such.)

    Added is also the whole scene where the risen Jesus appears to the disciples. In the film he appears just as they are breaking bread, and say ‘this is my body’. Thomas says ‘ I can’t believe’ (that Jesus is present in the bread and wine…?!?), and Jesus comes up and says ‘you believe because you have seen me, blessed are those…’etc.
    Okay, what’s the agenda here, I wonder.

    And is it only me, or did anyone else have a hangup over the slightly crooked staff of Peter – in the shape of a papal staff (the bent cross)? I can’t believe they’ve made a prop like that without intent.

    ‘But wait, there’s more…’
    (Just post this before I accidentally erase it.)

    Like

  16. ‘The Bible’ (Hollywood) has Abraham arguing and questioning God, about sacrificing Isaac. The (real) Bible says Abraham obeyed, and believed God.

    In God’s promise to Abraham the TV series omits any mention of the Promised Land – it’s more a vague promise of ‘descendants as the stars’.

    There’s not one mention of why the men of Sodom and Gomorra wanted to get hold of the angels. And then the ‘ninja-turtle-angels’…? Well, okay, artistic licence…

    Another, to my mind, catholic ingredient, maybe? When Samuel anoints first Saul, then David, to be king, he pours the oil onto their forehead, not on their head. Maybe its correctly presented? I have just always thought that one anoints the head.
    The RCC is quite connected to rituals having to do whith anointing foreheads, right? (Be it whith oil, water, or even ash.)
    This is just a nagging detail (like the bent staff of Peter) that seems to me to have been planted in plain view, for some purpose. I believe little in movies is accidental – it’s all coreographed.

    To say something positive, I think the intriguing against Jesus, and the character of Pilate, were well played in the series. Pilate ‘became a real person’.

    Can’t remember any more at the moment. Feel pretty exhausted.
    (Please, tell me if I’m totally off, riding a bike here.)

    Like

  17. Ingela,

    Welcome to our group – it is always refreshing to hear new voices from brothers and sisters that are committed to viewing the world through the lens of he Gospel. I appreciate your comments since I wasn’t able to watch the show directly. We disconnected cable a few years ago and the producers of this show opted not to make it available via the internet sources we use.

    From everything I’ve read – there seem to be a lot of subtle omissions that could not have been unintentional and downplay things like you mentioned about Sin, God’s sovereignty and the attitudes of people like Abraham and Isaac that clearly contradict what we find described in the text of scripture. Thank you for posting, and we look forward to your contributions to our discusssions.

    Like

  18. Amen Mr Sheep.

    Thank-you Ingela for your love for truth and fine gift of discernment. The church is in trouble and my heart bleeds as I see the sheep becoming open prey 😦

    Eze 34:8 [As] I live, saith the Lord GOD, surely because my flock became a prey, and my flock became meat to every beast of the field, because [there was] no shepherd, neither did my shepherds search for my flock, but the shepherds fed themselves, and fed not my flock;

    Like

  19. Thanks for your welcome, Justasheep.
    I’ve actually been here before – posting under ‘Angela’.
    But since that signature got crowded, I turned Swedish. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

