Is Eze 38 next?

No.

The next verse will not come true before Jesus returns on the clouds:

From that day forward the house of Israel will know that I am the LORD their God. (Ezekiel 39:22)

And we know from Scripture that they will only acknowledge the Lord their God when they see and weep over the one they have pierced.

Zechariah 12:10
And I will pour upon the house of David, and upon the inhabitants of Jerusalem, the spirit of grace and of supplications: and they shall look upon me whom they have pierced, and they shall mourn for him, as one mourneth for his only son, and shall be in bitterness for him, as one that is in bitterness for his firstborn.

With this little study I’m not implying that the Gog/Magog war will be at the end of the 1000 years. It is still future but will be before Armageddon, but it will not be the next big war in the ME everyone is expecting.

Comments and corrections welcome.

8 thoughts on “Is Eze 38 next?

  1. I think you are saying – Israel’s spiritual blindness, and their hardness of heart will not be removed until the 2nd Coming (which I would equate with Jesus setting foot on the Mount of Olives).

    I have to disagree – since we see in Revelation 7, the 144,000 of Israel sealed. In verse 2 and 3 you can see that the 4 angels that are given power to harm the earth are held back until the servants of God are sealed. I believe that the turning of Israel back to God, and recognition of Jesus as their messiah spoken of in the places you mention, and others occurs prior to the wrath of God being poured out on the Earth – for the reason I mention above. I think the miraculous turning to faith in Christ of 12,000 young virgin men of Israel is one of the things God uses to turn Israel’s heart to him, and to allow them to see the one they pierced (if not with their eyes then with their hearts).

    I don’t know about the timing of Ezekiel 38- but the most convincing argument I have that would preclude it’s immediate imminence is that Israel does not appear to be living in peace and safety today as is mentioned twice in that passage.

    Like

  2. “The next verse will not come true before Jesus returns on the clouds:”

    From that day forward the house of Israel will know that I am the LORD their God. (Ezekiel 39:22)

    FWIW; From my understanding of scripture, I respectively disagree.

    Like

  3. Boetie yes ….for the Jews to RECOGNIZE Christ they need to ACCEPT Him as God in the flesh first right ?

    Only after –

    Ezekiel 39:29, “Neither will I hide my face any more from them: for I have poured out my spirit upon the house of Israel, saith the Lord GOD.”

    Zechariah 12:10, “And I will pour upon the house of David, and upon the inhabitants of Jerusalem, the spirit of grace and of supplications: and they shall look upon me whom they have pierced, and they shall mourn for him, as one mourneth for [his] only [son], and shall be in bitterness for him, as one that is in bitterness for [his] firstborn.”

    Ezekiel 39:7, “So will I make my holy name known in the midst of my people Israel; and I will not [let them] pollute my holy name any more: and the heathen shall know that I [am] the LORD, the Holy One in Israel.”

    🙂

    Like

  4. Eze 39:29 “I will no longer hide my face from them, for I will pour out my Spirit on the house of Israel, declares the Sovereign Lord”

    These are the words of the Lord after the Gog/Magog battle. If the battle is fought before the time of Jacobss trouble, before the AoD, before the great tribulation, then why on earth will the Jews have to flee when they see the AoD? Will God hide His face from them again by allowing the AC forces to persecute them?

    Like

  5. I think the operative phrase in this text is “no longer hide my face from them”. My question would be, when we as those who know Christ face trials and tribulations of all sorts, does that mean that God has hidden his face from us? I won’t have time to back it up references right now, but may be able to tonight. I don’t think there is necessarily a 1:1 correlation for Israel to knowing the Lord and being free from tribulation and suffering – just as it is for the church. I love that this expression is used – and I’m sure to jewish scholars it makes not sense “I will hide my face from you no longer” – they will look on the face of Jesus and cry out “Yeshua, Ha Moshiach” Halleujah!

    Like

  6. What we must keep in mind is that God deals different with a nation than He does with an individual. Many righteous Israelis were driven out of the land when God judged them. Think of Daniel and Jeremiah who were under the judgment of God over the nation Israel, but they were righteous in His eyes. The judgment was national, not individual. What we will see in the future is the restoration of the whole nation of Israel towards their God when they see Jesus.

    But more in my next commentary

    Like

Leave a Reply

