Some wisdom from a level headed watchman

I must share this mail from one of my friends on this site. The discussion between us was about the different end time theories including the ENP, Dan 9:27 and the timing of the AoD.  I am also learning, and as some of you may know, I can ask many questions if something does not make sense. I will keep this anonymous as I did not ask his permission to post this. Thanks for the wisdom Brother:

I think it is good and productive for us to carefully consider and discuss these things, and sometimes privately so that we may consider a variety of thoughts that can be brought forward to build up the readers of your blog. I don’t think it’s critical or mean-spirited at all to ask hard questions that require detailed answers when the topic of interpreting the scriptures and speculating on what God has told is to come.

With that said, I think though the more I study God’s word – the better I know him and the stronger my hope is for the future, but at the same time I realize the less I know for certain the details (other than his plan is magnificent, the world is desperately wicked, and that he will rescue all of his own).

Reading lately I hear a lot of very detailed theories being thrown about, when this date was fulfilled, when this period started when this other ended, whether there’s a temple or not. I can honestly say, inasmuch as they apply a very literal interpretation of the scriptures they may be right, but it seems none of them are all that convincing.

A mistake I often see: one place in scripture 7 years is mentioned, so it must be the same as this other 7 years or 1260 days must be the same period as this other 1260 day period. I am convinced that is how the pre-trib interpretation gained so much steam, and while I am not certain they are wrong, if they are it will leave many vulnerable to deception as they believe someone cannot be the enemy of god, the son of perdition because they are still here, or that the two witnesses could not appear while they are still here.

I don’t want to make the same mistakes, so I’m apprehensive about building too much of a timeline that connects event a to time period b to even c, etc.

The question that’s really been sticking in my mind lately though when I hear talk of the 70th week – is what is the 70 weeks a period of, when did it start and when does it end. From study elsewhere it seems to be all about the city of Jerusalem and the people of Israel. I don’t see why more on the site don’t draw that distinction more finely. I guess we like to see the whole church represented in prophecy, and in the scriptures. My main area of conjecture right now is if we don’t have the whole interpretation wrong, that Daniel 9 24-27 is not about the whole world, but about Israel alone. One event that I see very clearly played out in Revelation – with the two witnesses, the 144000, is that God has a plan to specifically redeem Israel (by putting an end to the period where there hearts have been hardened against Christ).  I’ve gone back and read Romans 11 again a few times in light of  the first half of Revelation 7, Revelation 11, Revelation 12 1-6 and again Daniel 9. We are all speculating – but I think before we keep churning through theories we need to slow down and spend more time in slowly considering what each word and each segment of the key passages mean. Maybe many of us have been doing this for so long, we just assume we know. I’ve really only been seriously at this study of prophecy for 3-4 years now, so I’m by no means an expert. For those that have been doing this a very long time, I would say that with all that appears to be happening right now in the world, maybe its a good time to try to come back at the basic text again with just a reboot to their careful study, and less of the pre-conceptions and theories already established, or at least a clear outlining of what those pre-conceptions are how various scriptures support them, before moving on to theory.

I’m not saying any of the theories are right or wrong (I have to admit I’m very skeptical with a 70th week that started during Christ’s ministry 2000 years ago, I’m also very skeptical of a 70th week that lasts beyond the second coming and the establishment of Christ’s millennial reign. When I look at other prophecies we know are fulfilled like the destruction of Tyre in Ezekiel 26 – it is very easy to look back now and say wow, God is so precise in the details. It’s hard enough to find a clear text that identifies the gap between the 69th and 70th week, I find it very confusing to guess that the 70th week is anything other than a continuous 7 year period that starts at some point after Christ is cut off, and ends with the conditions of Daniel 9:24 (one verse by the way that I think we could spend a lot more time in gaining insight into each phrase that would greatly increase potential for understanding of the whole prophecy).

I have come to respect many of the insights into scripture brought by yourself, Mr. Baldy and many others over the past few years, so I hope nothing I’ve said above is taken as being critical, but really encouraging and cautionary – cautionary that we should not get too wrapped up in “knowing” things that are really speculation on our part. I’m also encouraged that we have remained a strongly unified group as it comes to commitment to the word, and have stood firm against those who are handling the scriptures unsoundly. You can feel free to share anything I write here or not, as you think it best for edifying our little group.

For His glory alone.

Dan 9:24 Seventy weeks are determined upon thy people and upon thy holy city, to finish the transgression, and to make an end of sins, and to make reconciliation for iniquity, and to bring in everlasting righteousness, and to seal up the vision and prophecy, and to anoint the most Holy.

2 thoughts on “Some wisdom from a level headed watchman

  1. wise–yes to what was written. thank you for sharing this. needed perspective lest i get ahead of God………….my eyes on jerusalem-israel itself the supersign-and i believe we will understand and know what we need to know.

    Like

Leave a Reply

