Hong Kong Scarlet Fever Outbreak Spurs Fears

strep throat

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2011/06/27/scarlet-fever-hong-kong_n_885515.html

The illness leaves children with a fever, sore throat, bright red tongue and sandpapery rash. Penicillin still cures it, but doctors worry options will be limited if the germ eventually outsmarts that antibiotic before a vaccine is developed.

“That’s the cause of lots of nightmares,” said Dr. Edward Kaplan. He heads a World Health Organization research center at the University of Minnesota that focuses on the strep germ, which causes scarlet fever. “The fact that we still have penicillin is something we all get down on our knees and say prayers about each night.”

Scarlet fever was once a highly feared scourge in Europe and the United States. Clothes, bedding and toys were often burned and children were sometimes isolated after infection, as portrayed in the popular 1920s children’s book, “The Velveteen Rabbit.” Experts say they fear rising drug resistance could one day take the world back to a time when there were no easy treatments.

“This will really turn us back to 1940s in terms of treatment of infectious disease if this trend continues,” Yuen said.

Comment by Adamantine:

This may not yet be a problem but disease does play a part in end time scenarios and this is interesting in that we have all probably had strep throat.

6 thoughts on “Hong Kong Scarlet Fever Outbreak Spurs Fears

  1. Seems this article is saying it is already drug resistant? Will find another report

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2011/06/27/scarlet-fever-hong-kong_n_885515.html

    — Ultramodern Hong Kong is tussling with a centuries-old bug long forgotten in many developed countries – an outbreak of drug-resistant scarlet fever that has killed the first children there in a decade. And with it is the rise of a mutated strain that appears to be more contagious.

    The number of cases has spiked this year to more than 500, with health officials issuing warnings in the southern Chinese city jammed with 7 million people and hypersensitive to any type of disease outbreak. Experts warn the main strain of the bacterial infection is likely transmitted easier. It is 60 percent resistant to two drugs of choice, up from a resistance level of 10 to 30 percent previously.

    Like MRSA, which I somehow have gotten in May this year, now they say it is community acquired and you do not have to get it when you are sick in the hospital, although the antibiotics they gave me sulfa drugs, almost put me into renal failure, thanks be to God I had such a bad reaction on the first night I had taken them that I wound up in the hospital having to get treatment. Anyway a whole lot of these so called superbugs are now showing up. For sure God needs to send Jesus back here soon to renew this earth and finish this age. I for one, can hardly wait. But I pray each day that the Lord Jesus help me in keeping me faithful and watching.

    I have a chronic disease which makes my immune system compromised, but I will not allow fear from the devil to overtake me in this thing. Jesus is my healer and many pray for me daily, so I know HE will keep me alive here as long as HE wants me here.

    Like

  2. Seems this article is saying it is already drug resistant? Will find another report

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2011/06/27/scarlet-fever-hong-kong_n_885515.html

    — Ultramodern Hong Kong is tussling with a centuries-old bug long forgotten in many developed countries – an outbreak of drug-resistant scarlet fever that has killed the first children there in a decade. And with it is the rise of a mutated strain that appears to be more contagious.

    The number of cases has spiked this year to more than 500, with health officials issuing warnings in the southern Chinese city jammed with 7 million people and hypersensitive to any type of disease outbreak. Experts warn the main strain of the bacterial infection is likely transmitted easier. It is 60 percent resistant to two drugs of choice, up from a resistance level of 10 to 30 percent previously.

    Like MRSA, which I somehow have gotten in May this year, now they say it is community acquired and you do not have to get it when you are sick in the hospital, although the antibiotics they gave me sulfa drugs, almost put me into renal failure, thanks be to God I had such a bad reaction on the first night I had taken them that I wound up in the hospital having to get treatment. Anyway a whole lot of these so called superbugs are now showing up. For sure God needs to send Jesus back here soon to renew this earth and finish this age. I for one, can hardly wait. But I pray each day that the Lord Jesus help me in keeping me faithful and watching.

    I have a chronic disease which makes my immune system compromised, but I will not allow fear from the devil to overtake me in this thing. Jesus is my healer and many pray for me daily, so I know HE will keep me alive here as long as HE wants me here.

    Ok so farther down in this same article it does say penicillin still cures it:
    The illness leaves children with a fever, sore throat, bright red tongue and sandpapery rash. Penicillin still cures it, but doctors worry options will be limited if the germ eventually outsmarts that antibiotic before a vaccine is developed.

    “That’s the cause of lots of nightmares,” said Dr. Edward Kaplan. He heads a World Health Organization research center at the University of Minnesota that focuses on the strep germ, which causes scarlet fever. “The fact that we still have penicillin is something we all get down on our knees and say prayers about each night.”

    The widespread availability of penicillin and the development of other new antibiotics in the 20th century virtually wiped out diseases that were once major killers in developed countries, such as tuberculosis. But the overuse and misuse of drugs – patients not finishing a full prescription or taking antibiotics for a virus when they are only effective against bacteria – have allowed old bugs to fight back and eventually overpower antibiotics, rendering some of them useless.

    Penicillin, once useful to treat a number of ailments from gonorrhea to pneumonia, has lost much of its potency due to resistance that has built over decades. Some say it’s a miracle it still works for the streptococci group that causes an array of diseases from strep throat to toxic shock syndrome and flesh-eating disease.

    Like

  3. Roma,

    Sorry to hear you had such a scary interaction with MRSA and to add a Sulfa complication on top of it. I’ve had my bad experiences with Sulfa drugs too, they make me quit breathing, so I’m aware of how bad reactions to them are. Best to you in recovery!

    Ironically enough, my son woke up with a sore throat this morning, a sandpapery rash on his face and a slight fever. Off to the doctor we go 🙂

    Like

  4. God bless you romalynn as you deal with an illness with faith in Jesus. He is Jehovah-rapha the Lord our Healer! Lord touch her body heart mind & soul with increased strength that can only come from You! grant even deeper faith to her heart so whatever You pick for her circumstances may give You Glory for others to see. Your Will be accomplished in her life all her days. thank You for our eternal Home where we will never know the pain and sin of this life again. You are Awesome Lord Jesus and all praise goes to You. amen.

    Like

  5. Interestingly God did give me a chance to witness to the hospital doctor, they had told me this abscess would not drain, but that Wednesday night after being brought in by emergency Weds morning after the sulfa reaction, it did begin to drain, even though they never did the hot compresses the surgeon consulted ordered for me. I told the doctor Thursday morning that I had called on all my prayer warriors and so did my husband, he gave me the look, you all know the look. Then when I went in for the first checkup, I told her I could not take the antibiotics as I would not risk it with my stomach already having issues, and would just use a fig poultice. She asked me where did I get the idea of a fig poltice and I answered it is in the bible. Got the look again, lol.
    The hot compresses I started late that Friday night after I got myself out of that hospital and home and the fig poultice have worked, not completely healed yet but it did drain and begin to heal for sure.

    Thanks to all of you for prayers here as I know prayer does work. I will take precautions of course, but not live in fear of getting it again, which probably I will. But HE is faithful. Thanks to all of you here who continue to watch even though we have been disappointed on the Herb Peters info theory, God knows and has formed a powerful group of watchers, and we will keep watching the way this world is going for sure.

    Like

Leave a Reply

