God is not a Christian

http://www.southerntimesafrica.com/article.php?title=Desmond%20Tutu:%20%20God%20is%20not%20a%20Christian%20%20%20&id=5848

As Christians settle down from the hustle and bustle of the just-ended Easter holidays, they will be amazed to find a new book in their bookshops in the next few weeks, written by Archbishop Desmond Tutu which says ‘God is clearly not a Christian. His concern is for all his children. To claim God exclusively for Christians is to make God too small… God is bigger than Christians and cares for more than Christians only.’ Being published on 5 May, the new book, with the provocative title, God Is Not A Christian – Speaking Truth in Times of Crisis, is a collection of some of Archbishop Tutu’s key speeches, sermons, lectures, letters, and exchanges over the past 30 years.

Comment by Adamantine:

My Goodness. These people will have a lot of explaining to do.

8 thoughts on “God is not a Christian

  1. Gag me with a spoon, What a bunch of stupid worldly nonsense, course I never liked this guy anyways, lol.

    Jesus is either who HE said HE is or the biggest liar in all the world. Let all men be liars and god tell the truth. Jesus is the only way to the true one and only Father, our Creator and Jesus is our redeemer.

    A big sign of the times we are living in and the soon coming of our Lord Jesus Christ of Nazareth.

    Like

  2. Desmond Tutu is not a Christian. He may have a church title and a Nobel peace price, but he has said and done many things that a real Christian will not.

    Wickus

    Like

  3. I discovered the above link does not work, so here is the text below. Tell me who the intolerant ones are.

    Amanda Quraishi (regarding Tutu’s Book)
    This is, quite simply, FANTASTIC. cc Tom Spencer David Sekel Steven Folberg Neil Blumofe Timothy Tutt Alan Graham

    God Is Not a Christian
    http://www.huffingtonpost.com
    Many of us perhaps need to have our notion of God deepened and expanded. We must be ready to learn from one another, not claiming that we alone possess all truth and that somehow we have a corner on God.

    23 hours ago · LikeUnlike · · Share

    4 people like this.

    Ron Haley:
    This simply confirms my long held belief about Desmond Tutu. He is not now, and never really was, a Christian. Virtually all of his spiritual beliefs are unchristian in scope. They are more ethereally transcendental than they are Christian…. The only thing I can say for certain he and I would agree on is the obligation to show respect for other people’s spiritual opinions. Not necessarily agree with them, but to hear people out and then, with respect, either agree or disagree, with or without your reasons for doing so. And if you disagree with someone, they should reciprocally show you the same respect. This all changes when the other persons belief system entails the active pursuit of harming others as some sort of divine right.See More
    22 hours ago

    Amanda Quraishi:
    There is absolutely NO belief system that entails the active pursuit of harming others as a sort of divine right. If it is interpreted as such, the fault does not lie with the faith tradition, but with those who would justify their sins using those interpretations.
    22 hours ago people like this.

    Amanda Quraishi:
    Also. “There are two kinds of people in this world. The kind that really believe there are two kinds of people in this world…and the kind that are smart enough to know better.” – Tom Robbins
    22 hours ago

    Ron Haley:
    Regardless of what the reason, it is still a belief system that the ruthless are abiding by, even if they just made it up over the past few days. As for Mr. Robbins, I would say there are many more than two types of people in the world. May…be he didn’t get out a lot. And besides that, he’s a poet artist and is just using artistic license to make a point, one that is not necessarily a hard fast rule just because it was printed

    22 hours ago

    Kati Irons:
    I prefer to believe that Desmond Tutu is not “merely” a Christian, but a great spiritual teacher who transcends labels. But to say he is not “a Christian” because he says something that is profound and moving and tolerant is saying that all Christians must by definition be awful intolerant people.I am not an awful intolerant person, and I am not “exceptional”.
    22 hours ago

    Ron Haley:
    Well, Kati, I see that your being respectfully disagreeable with me <—just a pun…for a little fun. May I say one thing to you, an open-minded "Christian"? "Enter through the narrow gate; for the gate is wide and the way is broad that le…ads to destruction, and there are many who enter through it. For the gate is small and the way is narrow that leads to life, and there are few who find it." These are the words of Christ, after whom we name Christianity. The broad way is open wide, as you describe yourself. The narrow way Jesus refers to is just that; very narrow. Please do not insult my intelligence by saying that this means anything other than the strictly defined set of spiritual principles he taught , as well as lived by. As for Desmond, he is wide open. He is on the broad path. I don't hate the man. Do I have to agree with him to make you happy, or just shut my mouth because of your intolerance. I can be respectful to him, but it doesn't mean I have to agree with him. How do you not see that? How is that intolerant? Intolerance is the buzz word used by people such as yourself when you are unable to give an intelligent answer in an intelligent debate; you revert to name calling, and "intolerant" is one of your favorites.
    21 hours ago

    Amanda Quraishi:
    Ron I just don't have the patience to respond to your bullshit today. If your definition of God is Truth then I'll take my place in hell on principle.
    20 hours ago

    Ron Haley: So intolerant.
    20 hours ago

    Amanda Quraishi:
    Im the most tolerant person you fucking know. Go run along and play with your fundies now.
    20 hours ago

    Ron Haley:
    To you, Dave, I may sound like that, but I'm far from it. What the heck is with you guys? Are we all supposed to believe the same things as you? If not, we're bad, intolerant people. I think ya'll should pick up a dictionary and read the de…finition of intolerant. And besides the name calling, your type always does this really "cool" other thing; try to put words in the mouths of people you disagree with, as though they actually said them. No civility here at all. Because I have an opinion that differs with most of ya'll, you get your panties in a twist and just squirm in your seats, your sphincters clamping shut, because you can't stand that anybody should believe something contrary to what you do. You're all the intolerant ones, not me. And listen to you Q. You're the most tolerant person I know. What did I say that brings this out in you. Show me, point by point, like an intelligent person. Is debate with facts beyond the scope of this group? Wow.
    19 hours ago

    Kati Irons:
    I'm not sure I want to wade in to this again, but I'm finding this conversation oddly illustrative. Ron, I think I owe you an apology. I misread your first entry and, not knowing you or anything about you, believed you were making a common…ly expressed argument by people who are not Christian, that any Christian who expresses a profound universal idea must ergo not really be Christian. (Because Christians are perceived by many as being small minded and ignorant). Instead, what I think I'm interpreting based on what you've written here, is that you're actually a Christian and perhaps one who thinks that Desmond Tutu is one of those loosy goosy nut jobs who only masquerades as Christian. I'm just guessing. I could be wrong. What I do know is that I am a Christian, and every word Desmond Tutu has said in this essay is something I don't just believe but I know in my soul to be true. You may judge me for this. You may accuse me of "not being Christian" because I say this. That's your right. My God is so much stronger than your judgement.
    18 hours ago

    Amanda Quraishi:
    Ron. Go back and re-read every word of that article, then come back and tell me why your last post makes no sense. If you can do that we can continue this conversation.
    18 hours ago

    Amanda Quraishi: Beautifully written, Kati.
    18 hours ago

    Amanda Quraishi:

    Ron says "This simply confirms my long held belief about Desmond Tutu. He is not now, and never really was, a Christian." Meanwhile: "The Most Rev. Dr. Desmond Mpilo Tutu (born 7 October 1931) is a South African activist and Christian cle…ric who rose to worldwide fame during the 1980s as an opponent of apartheid. He was the first black South African Anglican Archbishop of Cape Town, South Africa, and primate of the Church of the Province of Southern Africa (now the Anglican Church of Southern Africa).
    Archbishop Tutu has been active in the defense of human rights and uses his high profile to campaign for the oppressed. He has campaigned to fight AIDS, tuberculosis, homophobia, transphobia, poverty and racism. Tutu received the Nobel Peace Prize in 1984, the Albert Schweitzer Prize for Humanitarianism in 1986, the Gandhi Peace Prize in 2005,[1] and the Presidential Medal of Freedom in 2009. Tutu has also compiled several books of his speeches and sayings."
    18 hours ago

    Amanda Quraishi:
    I mean, For. Fuck's. Sake. If that's not a Christian, then it really OUGHT to be.
    18 hours ago

    Amanda Quraishi:
    The arrogance. The absolute smug self-righteousness that would permit a person to dismiss a lifetime of good works at THIS LEVEL as not being "Christian" enough… Ron you take the fucking cake, man.
    18 hours ago

    Amanda Quraishi: There is absolutely NO belief system that entails the active pursuit of harming others as a sort of divine right. If it is interpreted as such, the fault does not lie with the faith tradition, but with those who would justify their sins using those interpretations.
    22 hours ago

    Amanda Quraishi"
    Also. "There are two kinds of people in this world. The kind that really believe there are two kinds of people in this world…and the kind that are smart enough to know better." – Tom Robbins
    22 hours ago

    Ron Haley :
    Regardless of what the reason, it is still a belief system that the ruthless are abiding by, even if they just made it up over the past few days. As for Mr. Robbins, I would say there are many more than two types of people in the world. May…be he didn't get out a lot. And besides that, he's a poet artist and is just using artistic license to make a point, one that is not necessarily a hard fast rule just because it was printed. 😛
    21 hours ago

    Kati Irons:
    I prefer to believe that Desmond Tutu is not "merely" a Christian, but a great spiritual teacher who transcends labels. But to say he is not "a Christian" because he says something that is profound and moving and tolerant is saying that all Christians must by definition be awful intolerant people.I am not an awful intolerant person, and I am not "exceptional".
    21 hours ago

    Ron Haley:
    Well, Kati, I see that your being respectfully disagreeable with me <—just a pun…for a little fun. May I say one thing to you, an open-minded "Christian"? "Enter through the narrow gate; for the gate is wide and the way is broad that le…ads to destruction, and there are many who enter through it. For the gate is small and the way is narrow that leads to life, and there are few who find it." These are the words of Christ, after whom we name Christianity. The broad way is open wide, as you describe yourself. The narrow way Jesus refers to is just that; very narrow. Please do not insult my intelligence by saying that this means anything other than the strictly defined set of spiritual principles he taught , as well as lived by. As for Desmond, he is wide open. He is on the broad path. I don't hate the man. Do I have to agree with him to make you happy, or just shut my mouth because of your intolerance. I can be respectful to him, but it doesn't mean I have to agree with him. How do you not see that? How is that intolerant? Intolerance is the buzz word used by people such as yourself when you are unable to give an intelligent answer in an intelligent debate; you revert to name calling, and "intolerant" is one of your favorites.
    21 hours ago

    Amanda Quraishi:
    Ron I just don't have the patience to respond to your bullshit today. If your definition of God is Truth then I'll take my place in hell on principle.
    20 hours ago

    Ron Haley: So intolerant.
    20 hours ago

    Amanda Quraishi:
    Im the most tolerant person you fucking know. Go run along and play with your fundies now.
    19 hours ago

    Ron Haley:
    To you, Dave, I may sound like that, but I'm far from it. What the heck is with you guys? Are we all supposed to believe the same things as you? If not, we're bad, intolerant people. I think ya'll should pick up a dictionary and read the de…finition of intolerant. And besides the name calling, your type always does this really "cool" other thing; try to put words in the mouths of people you disagree with, as though they actually said them. No civility here at all. Because I have an opinion that differs with most of ya'll, you get your panties in a twist and just squirm in your seats, your sphincters clamping shut, because you can't stand that anybody should believe something contrary to what you do. You're all the intolerant ones, not me. And listen to you Q. You're the most tolerant person I know. What did I say that brings this out in you. Show me, point by point, like an intelligent person. Is debate with facts beyond the scope of this group? Wow.See More
    19 hours ago

    Kati Irons:
    I'm not sure I want to wade in to this again, but I'm finding this conversation oddly illustrative. Ron, I think I owe you an apology. I misread your first entry and, not knowing you or anything about you, believed you were making a common…ly expressed argument by people who are not Christian, that any Christian who expresses a profound universal idea must ergo not really be Christian. (Because Christians are perceived by many as being small minded and ignorant). Instead, what I think I'm interpreting based on what you've written here, is that you're actually a Christian and perhaps one who thinks that Desmond Tutu is one of those loosy goosy nut jobs who only masquerades as Christian. I'm just guessing. I could be wrong. What I do know is that I am a Christian, and every word Desmond Tutu has said in this essay is something I don't just believe but I know in my soul to be true. You may judge me for this. You may accuse me of "not being Christian" because I say this. That's your right. My God is so much stronger than your judgement.
    18 hours ago

    Amanda Quraishi:
    Ron. Go back and re-read every word of that article, then come back and tell me why your last post makes no sense. If you can do that we can continue this conversation.
    17 hours ago

    Amanda Quraishi:
    Beautifully written, Kati.
    17 hours ago

    Amanda Quraishi:
    Ron says "This simply confirms my long held belief about Desmond Tutu. He is not now, and never really was, a Christian." Meanwhile: "The Most Rev. Dr. Desmond Mpilo Tutu (born 7 October 1931) is a South African activist and Christian cle…ric who rose to worldwide fame during the 1980s as an opponent of apartheid. He was the first black South African Anglican Archbishop of Cape Town, South Africa, and primate of the Church of the Province of Southern Africa (now the Anglican Church of Southern Africa).
    Archbishop Tutu has been active in the defense of human rights and uses his high profile to campaign for the oppressed. He has campaigned to fight AIDS, tuberculosis, homophobia, transphobia, poverty and racism. Tutu received the Nobel Peace Prize in 1984, the Albert Schweitzer Prize for Humanitarianism in 1986, the Gandhi Peace Prize in 2005,[1] and the Presidential Medal of Freedom in 2009. Tutu has also compiled several books of his speeches and sayings."See More
    17 hours ago

    Amanda Quraishi:
    I mean, For. Fuck's. Sake. If that's not a Christian, then it really OUGHT to be.
    17 hours ago

    Amanda Quraishi:
    The arrogance. The absolute smug self-righteousness that would permit a person to dismiss a lifetime of good works at THIS LEVEL as not being "Christian" enough… Ron you take the fucking cake, man.
    17 hours ago

    Like

  4. Posts like the above mentioned are only one reason why I deleted my account at FB. I deleted my account several months ago and have never regretted it.

    Like

  5. Brenda, you didn’t say what it is about the conversation my post outlines, that prompted you to delete your FB account. Would you please elucidate. Your post really doesn’t say what it is about it that made you do so. I am just curious and I promise I will not respond at all to your answer … if you post one, unless you invite an answer.

    Like

  6. Sorry Ron. I commented to your post and it showed up on a different article. What I was saying was that I deleted my account several months ago due to argumentative people who will never see another person’s point of view. Also, blessing and cursing is not supposed to come from the same mouth per the Word of God. I don’t care for the filthy language so many use on FB. Do what you want but I don’t have time for people like the ones who came at you on FB. Time is short. If people don’t like the message I move on to the ones who do. Be blessed.

    Like

  7. Thanks for the response Brenda. I fully understand where you’re coming from, and I’m also just about due for a big shakeup in FB “friends” list.

    Like

Leave a Reply

